Campus dating violence


23-Mar-2020 22:26

In response to a question about the biggest obstacles facing college campuses in addressing sexual violence, students talked about a variety of concerns.Several observed that campus culture has to be open to combating sexual assault and dating violence.The lone male student on the panel also underscored the need to further engage men on these issues.Next, the rest of the attendees broke out into tabletop discussions to further explore the topics raised by the student panel.These promising practices models, trauma informed curricula and cutting edge tools can be replicated, adapted and used (with permission when noted as necessary) by institutions of higher education to support efforts to end sexual assault, domestic violence, dating violence and stalking on their campuses.Title: Campus Sexual and Dating Violence: The Role of Campus Health Centers Date: Wednesday, August 8th, 2018 Time: -12pm PST/ -1pm MT/ -2pm CT/ -3pm ET Materials presented in the webinar: Follow this link for access to the webinar recording. Follow this link for information on FUTURES’ campus resources. Webinar Description: Intimate partner and sexual violence (IPV/SV) is highly prevalent on college campuses, impacting student health and educational attainment.Futures Without Violence’s National Health Resource Center on Domestic Violence is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

As attendees departed, they left with a challenge in mind: to follow up with a person they had met that day who had inspired them.

Campus health centers are a vital component of a campus-wide efforts to prevent and respond to IPV/SV.

Though survivors are often discouraged from reporting or discussing their experiences through traditional pathways, health care providers on campuses are in a unique position to be able to offer support, as well as to provide universal education to all patients about healthy relationships and how violence can affect health and academic performance.

The Center has gathered information from the Departments of Justice, Education, Health and Human Services, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention for campus administrators, faculty and staff, campus and community law enforcement, victim service providers, students, parents and other stakeholders as they work to change the culture on their campuses.

This innovative clearinghouse includes the latest research, sample campus policies, protocols, best practices, and information on how to access training opportunities and technical assistance.Each person answered the question in a different way; however, one trend rose to the surface.